Words from the Chair
   IERASG Council
   Photo album
   History of IERASG
   About Website


It is my pleasure to welcome you as Chair of IERASG, the International Evoked Response Audiometry Study Group. Our Study Group is for anyone with an interest in evoked response audiometry – we especially welcome young researchers in the field who are keen to discuss their ideas. Previous IERASG Chairs, Professors Hal Davis, Terry Picton, Roger Thornton, and John Durrant, have had distinguished research careers and have made significant contributions to this field. I share their passion for research and translation of research findings into evidence-based clinical practice in evoked response audiometry.

IERASG is inclusive and international. Our goal is to advance global understanding and practice in the field of auditory evoked responses. We are multi-disciplinary with members who are scientists, clinicians and students. The diversity of the IERASG Council represents our global membership. It is easy to join IERASG – just attend the symposium. IERASG symposia are held mid-year in different parts of the world. The symposia provide opportunities for people with an interest in auditory evoked responses to come together for a free exchange of ideas between senior and newer researchers in a supportive environment.

Members of the IERASG Council hosted another successful IERASG symposium on 30 October 2018 at the World Congress of Audiology in Capetown, South Africa. Presentation abstracts and details of presentations can be found here.

Our biennial symposium is held in odd-numbered years. We are very excited that this year IERASG will be held “down under” in Australia for the first time. We are looking forward to meeting with you in Sydney, Australia for IERASG 2019, 30 June to 4 July 2019.

This will be the 26th meeting of IERASG, which has grown out of the informal meetings of lab groups interested in auditory electrophysiology, hosted by Professor Hallowell Davis. “Hal’s Club” became the “ERA Club” and is now the International Evoked Response Audiometry Study Group.

The website is now live for abstract submissions, with a closing date of 18th March 2019.

More information about the conference can be found here.

Since the inception of this field we have made great strides in the application of evoked response audiometry. Important challenges remain however. We continue to seek valid, reliable, and time-efficient objective measures of different aspects of auditory function. I hope to see you in 2019 to discuss the latest developments in our field in an exciting part of the world.

Kind regards,
Suzanne Purdy